The Big Six

The Big Six

Teaching Schools are outstanding schools that work with others to provide high-quality training and development to new and experienced school staff.  They are part of the government’s plan to give schools a central role in raising standards by developing a self-improving and sustainable school-led system.

There are 6 core areas (The Big 6) of responsibility for Teaching Schools.

    1. School-led initial teacher training (ITT)
    2. Continuing professional development (CPD)
    3. Supporting other schools (StSS)
    4. Identifying and developing leadership potential
    5. Specialist leaders of education (SLE’s)
    6. Research and development (R&D)

For further information on Teaching Schools visit our National Teaching schools page.

*** 19/03/20 UPDATE: Wild Words in the world; Outstanding teaching and learning in primary geography; Phonics into Spelling: How to create effective spellers in classrooms ALL POSTPONED ***   On balance, we feel it is the right and responsible thing to do because it will reduce the amount of social interaction which can only help to prevent the spread of Covid-19. By halting groups of visitors to schools we hope we are demonstrating a duty of care to school staff and pupils as well as the wider communities that they are all part of.